John Hammond House

John Hammond House,
35 Salem Street, Sackville, N.B. 
John Hammond had a colourful career before coming to Sackville 1893 to teach fine arts at Mount Allison. While he is best known for the splendid Hammond Black House and the adjacent Hammond Studio at 82 York Street, he also designed, built and sold a number of houses in the surrounding area of which this is one of the finest examples.The handsome stone exterior is matched by fine interior wood work and wood panelling.
Marker placed by Tantramar Historic Sites committee, and unveiled on 23 November 2002 by John Hammond’s grandson, Mr. John Krug.
John Hammond House, 1909

Constructed on land purchased from Mayor Charles Pickard, originally part of the Bowser land grant, this unique house was built of fine-grained sandstone from H.C. Read’s quarry at Rockport. John Hammond, R.C.A. (1843-1939), already famous as an artist, came to Mount Allison in 1893 with the establishment of The Owens Museum of Fine Arts. Media reports from 1910 say that he gave residents of Sackville a practical lesson in artistic house-building by the erection of a number of residences combining novelty, utility and beauty.
“Celebrating Hammond,” Sackville Tribune-Post, 27 November 2002, p.2.

Tantramar Heritage Trust | Historic Sites